Health and Safety Awards Program

The OSSGA is dedicated to the advancement and improvement of the aggregate industry. Each year OSSGA recognizes those member companies who have made a significant contribution to the overall health and safety of the aggregate industry through two safety awards programs - Individual Safety Awards and Corporate Safety Awards.

OSSGA Safety Innovation Award

Introduced in 2020, OSSGA’s Safety Innovation Award recognizes innovative practices, programs and projects in Ontario’s aggregate industry. The award honours innovations that improve the health and safety of employees, subcontractors and the public in the areas of OHS management systems, health and safety training, wellness programs and culture. Don’t be left out – showcase the innovation in your organization that is keeping everyone safe and productive.

For application requirements for OSSGA's Safety Innovation Award, please click here. 

To apply for OSSGA's Safety Innovation Award, please click here.

Health & Safety Award Nominations Now Open!

The OSSGA Health & Safety Committee invites all active OSSGA members to recognize individuals and operations within their organizations that have excelled at making safety a part of their daily responsibilities.

The nomination forms are available online ONLY. 

To apply for the OSSGA Corporate Safety Awards recognizing Zero Lost Time Injuries (LTI) for individual operations, please click here.

To apply for the OSSGA Individual Safety Certificates, please click here.

The Deadline for submissions is Friday, December 8, 2023. The awards and certificates will be presented at the 2024 Operations, Health & Safety Seminar in January 2024. 


The Individual Safety Awards program recognizes outstanding safety abilities and/or activities pursued by a particular individual or individuals within the Association's various member companies.

The Corporate Safety Awards Program recognizes zero lost time injuries for individual operations of OSSGA member companies i.e., 12 months of work in pits or quarries without any lost time injuries.

Award Information

Nominations will be open in the fall with the deadline for submissions in December. The awards and certificates are presented at the annual Operations, Health & Safety Seminar in January. For additional information about the Health and Safety Awards Program, contact Ashlee Zelek.